• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Sun Certified Web Component Developer (SCWCD) - CX-310-083


Sun Certified Web Component Developer for the Java Platform, Enterprise Edition 5 certification exam (CX-310-083) is for Sun Certified Java Programmers (SCJP, any edition) who are using the Java technology servlet and JavaServer Pages (JSP) application program interface (APIs) to develop web applications.



SCWCD Certification Benefits

Passing Sun Certified Web Component Developer (SCWCD) Certification Exam certifies that the candidate has achieved a standard level of proficiency with Java Servlet and JavaServer Pages (JSP) application program interface (API's).


  • Demonstrate to your employer, peers & customers that you are an expert in Java Technology Servlet and JavaServer Pages (JSP) and use industry-respected best practices.
  • Improve your knowledge & skills using the process of achieving the certification.
  • Enhance your salary, job opportunities and credibility through this respected credential.


SCWCD Certification Target Audience

This certification is for developers specializing in the application of JavaServer Pages and servlet technologies used to present Web services and dynamic Web content. To achieve this certification, candidates must successfully complete one exam. Prior to attempting certification, candidates must be certified as a Sun Certified Java Programmer (SCJP), any edition.


SCWCD Certification Exam Details

Delivered at: Authorized Worldwide Prometric Testing Centers

Prerequisites: Sun Certified Programmer for the Java 2 Platform (any edition)

Exam type: Multiple Choice and Drag and Drop

Number of questions: 69

Pass score: 70% (49 of 69 questions)

Time limit: 180 minutes


SCWCD Certification Exam Preparation

  • Familiarize yourself with Sun's exam process understanding the exam registration, course material, process etc.
  • Get started with a good book like Sun Certified Programmer for Java 5 Study Guide by Katherine Sierra and Bert Bates (K&B)
  • Register to a good SCWCD forum to post questions and discuss and share experience on certification exam preparation.
  • Code Code Code, Study the lessons and learn to write the code.
  • Most importantly Practice SCWCD Mock Exams to get exposed to the variety of SCJP certification exam questions asked in the exam. 

Oracle Certification


The Oracle Certification Program is a professional certification program offered by the Oracle Corporation. There are three levels of Oracle Certification in several disciplines: Oracle Certified Associate (OCA), Oracle Certified Professional (OCP), and Oracle Certified Master (OCM).

Java Certification


Sun Certified Professional (SCP) is a professional certification program by Sun Microsystems, a subsidiary of Oracle Corporation. There are two levels of java Certification in several disciplines: Sun Certified Java Associate (SCJA), Sun Certified Java Programmer (SCJP), and Sun Certified Java Developer (SCJD)

Red Hat Certification


The Red Hat Certification Program is Red Hat's professional certification program for Red Hat and general Linux related skills such as system administration on Red Hat Enterprise Linux Red Hat Certified Technician (RHCT)  and Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE)